If you enjoyed Katawa Shoujo, you’ll love these visual novels

Katawa Shojou

There’s just something about landing yourself at a special needs school and falling madly in love with one of the female students. That’s what Katawa Shoujo — also known as the visual novel that made 4chan cry a little — is able to offer. It’s not alone in the visual novel genre and I’ve rounded up some killer reads for you to get stuck into if you enjoyed the popular title.

If you’ve never played (or heard of) Katawa Shoujo, it’s a visual novel that was released for free by a group of talented individuals. Here’s a taste of what it offers readers:

Katawa Shoujo

You can download it right now from the official website. I highly recommend it as a starting point for anyone who has yet to dive into the wonderful world of visual novels. Now, without further ado and in no particular order.

1. G-senjou no Maou – The Devil on G-String

G-senjou no Maou - The Devil on G-String

One of my favourite visual novels happens to be about a young lad in a bustling city. Sounds ordinary, right? He goes to school just like every other youth but he also happens to be the foster child of a gang leader, oh and a genius. It’s a thriller story more than anything with a number of routes to go down, some cracking love interests and insane plot twists. It may start off slow, but man does the pace pick up.

It’ll cost you £14.99.

See at Steam

2. Everlasting Summer

Everlasting Summer

In Everlasting Summer, you follow Semyon who somehow managed to fall asleep on the bus in winter and wakes up in the middle of summer at a pioneer camp called Sovyonok. You need to find out what happened, how to get back, and why he’s there. Oh, and there are plenty of friendly ladies on-camp who you can get to know. A good visual novel overall, and it’s free.

See at Steam

3. Grisaia no Kajitsu

The Fruit of Grisaia

Similar to G-senjou no Maou, Grisaia no Kajitsu follows a young man into a school, only this time it’s a strange establishment full of only six females — each of whom has an interesting backstory. Why are you there, why are they there, and what is the school all about. There are some humorous moments, a great story with some interesting routes on offer. A must-read.

A little pricey, however, at £29.99.

See at Steam